top of page
  • Nadventr2

California was a mystical island from a Spanish adventure novel.

Published in 1510, Las Sergas de Esplandián, was a chivalric romance, which were very popular in the 16th century. It was written by Garci Rodriguez de Montalvo and published 5 years after his death. In the novel, a fictional island called California existed east of the Indies and contained Amazonian style women, only all black and ruled by Queen Calafia.



When Spanish explorers, led by Hernan Cortes, reached the west coast of Mexico they learned of an island across the sea (The gulf of California today) that was rumored to be populated by Amazon women. This reminded them of the island in the novel and so it was named California. Later, they discovered it was actually a peninsula (Baja California), but it was too late and the name stuck.


So, today, I live on this mystical island, but I am still waiting to see these Amazonian women. :)


I looked up the novel, so I could read it. It's available on Amazon (ironic) for $150! https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/849740047X/ I will have to see if I can find an English translation a bit cheaper.


15 views0 comments
bottom of page