top of page
  • Nadventr2

Learned how to polish using a bench grinding wheel

I bought a bench grinder a few weeks back. Always wanted one and finally had enough reasons to buy one. The first thing I did was fix a couple of pieces of silverware my daughter ground up

in the garbage disposal. :) I used the stone that came with it to smooth out the nicks. Had to be really careful though, because those stones are very aggressive. After messing around with different pad collections I ordered, I finally watched enough Youtube videos to see that I needed the blue stick of polish and the loose felt wheel to give things a shine. I received those a few days ago and tonight I took out a couple of old real silverware pieces that had tarnished and looked rough. I also ordered a tapered shaft that makes it really easy to change out polishing wheels. I can't see unbolting all the bolts every time I want to change a wheel, which I now have a dozen of.


After about 5 minutes on the felt, they had a mirror finish and I could see myself in them. That was pretty cool. Below is a before and after shot on the left two forks. I had already done the spoon handle. Now, I am looking all over the house for what needs polishing. :D



















I also took out some of my old tools from the WWI era and used what looked like scouring pad wheels. The rough one took the rust right off and the fine one shined them up so I was able to read all the marking. Below are some pictures of before and after on the wrenches I restored from a rusted mess. The top wrench is pretty good, but I am thinking I may use some rougher polish/grit and fix up the bottom one some more.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page